Healthy Taco Soup

Week one of clean eating went great!  I had no problems sticking to it, and am feeling incredibly accomplished.   I didn’t even cheat this weekend in Omaha… which is a big deal for me.  I usually have no self-control around taco stands.  Fried fish tacos at Juan Taco… damn….  For the first time in a long time, I am feeling committed, rather than interested in getting in shape and following this program.

I love vegetables and salads.  Unfortunately, I cannot eat a salad every single day.  For some reason, by Saturday, I was gagging when I ate my lunch.  I don’t know if it’s the taste or texture, but I just have to stop eating them for at least a week.  That being said, I needed to make a change in my meal plan.

Mexican food is hands down my favorite food on Earth.  One of my best friends, Whitney, gave me an amazing and super simple recipe for taco soup.  Original recipe: http://www.ayearofslowcooking.com/2008/02/original-taco-soup-crockpot-recipe.html

I made it once for my dad and brother, and it was a hit.  I needed to put my own healthy twist on it this time around, and I also wanted to make the soup more “brothy.” I love broth.  To make this recipe healthier I substituted lean ground turkey for ground beef, and also used “no salt added” cans of vegetables.  I’m sure I could have taken the time to use 100% fresh vegetables for the soup, but we lifted today, and I also had basketball film and practice.  I needed a simple prep.  Maybe next time… 😉

Below is my recipe for this week’s delicious and craving-satisfying lunch.  Remember that I prep for an entire week, and also make it for my sister.  This is a HUGE batch of soup, so I would recommend that you cut this recipe in half.

Ingredients: 

2 lbs 93% lean ground turkey                                                                                                                        2 chopped yellow onions                                                                                                                                2 packages taco seasoning                                                                                                                            2 packages ranch dressing mix                                                                                                                      2 28 oz cans diced tomatoes                                                                                                                          2 10 oz cans mild Rotel                                                                                                                                    3 cans unsalted corn                                                                                                                                        1 can kidney beans                                                                                                                                            1 can pinto beans                                                                                                                                                1 14.5 oz can low sodium beef broth

Instructions:

1) Brown turkey and onions in a large skillet 2) drain and throw (not violently) the ground turkey and onion into a large crockpot. 3) sprinkle the taco and ranch packets over the meat 4) add all of the canned items on top of the meat. REMEMBER that the corn is not to be drained, but the beans are. 5) Mix everything together, and put crock pot on low 6) Walk away, and do whatever you want for 6-8 hours while this soup becomes magnificent.  If you are in a rush, you can put it on high for 4 hours.

Leave a Reply

